Home > Random > A Word(press) of Warning!

A Word(press) of Warning!

September 4th, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

Recently had two people register on my blog.. which may seem innocent at first but for the fact I disable the ‘Register’ button on my blog. This means whoever did it has registered through a backdoor for some reason.

A quick google of the first of the two emails that registered here brings me to a couple of pages;

http://www.emintelligencer.org.uk/2009/09/02/spam-hack-attack/

http://www.packcamera.com/archives/409

http://mice.org/blog/an-open-note-to-wordpress-spammers-hackers/

..both detailing a similar problem and the first linked page even has the same email address listed as one that has registered here.

Googling the second email brings up descriptions of WordPress sites being hacked by someone using that email address.

Both accounts are now deleted and banned and I would advise anyone else running WordPress software to check things are as they should be. From what I have read he/she/they are attempting to hit blogs that use the default Admin login information so if you haven’t already, get your details changed!

For the benefit of others, the first person to register used the following details;

Username: MikeWink
E-mail: bugbeemershonyhe@gmail.com

I deleted the second without noting the info down I’m afraid so I cant pass that on. If you have a MikeWink with that email registered to your site and you don’t know who it is, delete the account immediately.

Categories: Random Tags: ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.
*